Craziest Spring Break with Rachel Van Dyken plus Giveaway!

It’s Spring Break!!! In celebration of this wild and crazy time of year I’m hosting a Spring Break party on my blog!!  To kick off this week’s adventure I have a special guest….one of my favorite authors, Rachel Van Dyken!! She’s here today to tell us about her Craziest Spring Break and give us some info about her upcoming release!! 

Craziest Spring Break by Rachel Van Dyken

I never realized how lame I was until I started thinking about the craziest spring break I’ve ever had. After a good half hour of thinking..it occurred to me. I’m actually quite boring. I’ve done the typical, let’s go to Mexico during spring break and I’ve done the “I’m going to stay home and study.” But nothing out of the ordinary—or so I thought. And then, like a memory that I’ve surpassed, for very good reason, this little blurb of a Spring Break popped up on my radar.

No, I didn’t get drunk.

I didn’t light someone on fire.

BUT in my sad, pathetic little 6th grade mind. I fell in love.

It started on the basketball court, like most games do….We were vacationing on the Oregon coast, I was practicing my ridiculous skills (ridiculous being the keyword here) when some locals asked if they could join.

We played for five hours.

Every day.

Until the week was finished.

I fell in love with the tall one–it was immediate. He shared his candy bar, I gave him some Mountain Dew, and in my mind thought. This is it. This is the moment everyone talks about.

Maybe it was his height? Or the fact that his three point shot was way better than mine–I was always attracted to the athletes. But, alas, the time came when we had to leave.

I remember putting my hair in a ponytail, with a really awesome black scrunch, I pulled my socks up really high so I’d look like Cher form Clueless (mind you my socks weren’t actually knee highs but reebok basketball socks). I put on some Clinique lipstick and pink blush, then very nervously made my way back to the court.

Back where our love affair began.

I expected him to be just as sad. I imagined there would be tears, promises of forever, and I was ready for that, ready to tell him that he was it.

We played Horse.

He won.

My dad honked the horn on the minivan (also known as the totally rad green Ford Windstar) and the love of my life walked away with a wave.

I was heartbroken, shell shocked, defeated. And then, he walked back and slid a note into my hand.

Triumphant, I hugged him and jogged back to my van. Clearly it was a love note, with all his reasons for falling for me too, possibly an address, a wedding proposal? Endless possibilities.

I waited five minutes maybe ten, then read the note. It wasn’t of love or adoration. The tall boy said I was fun, and I was cute, he left me no address.

But he did explain, in very scratchy writing that he wasn’t a good guy–that I was lucky to have a family who took me on vacation, and that he’d probably never see me again.

Imagine my disappointment? When I returned to school the following week, we had to get up in front of the class and talk about what we did over spring break.

I talked about basketball and then, while facing all my peers, burst into tears over the boy who broke my heart.

IN FRONT OF EVERYONE.

I think…looking back….going to Mexico and waking up in the pool naked may have been a better way to go, considering none of my friends EVER let me forget it.

Check out Rachel’s upcoming release coming April 21, 2015 

THE CONSEQUENCE OF LOVING COLTON

colton

It’s all fun and games…until someone’s heart is broken.

They’re not kids anymore, but Milo Caro is certain that Colton Mathews will only see her as his best friend’s little sister for the rest of their lives. After all, he made that clear the night before she left for college. But four years later, her brother is getting married and Colt’s the best man—and guess who is the best man’s last-minute date?

Milo vows to use the wedding to either claim the smoldering firefighter’s heart or douse this torch for good. When Max—her best friend from college, who may be carrying a torch of his own—crashes the party, they devise a plan to make Colt see what he’s missing. But after Colt catches on, he decides to cook up his own revenge.

Now it’s personal. Colt and Milo are at war, and between Max’s questionable acting methods, an unfortunate trip to jail, and a maniacal fiancée, what could possibly go right?

Goodreads

AMAZON

rachelborder

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she’s not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.

She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband and their snoring Boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers! You can follow her writing journey at www.rachelvandykenauthor.com

Links:

Facebook 

Twitter

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

Newsletter

AND NOW IT’S GIVEAWAY TIME!!!!!!

giphy-9

ENTER FOR A CHANCE TO WIN A COPY OF RACHEL’S UPCOMING RELEASE!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Craziest Spring Break with Rachel Van Dyken plus Giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Inkslinger Authors: Wildest Spring Break Experiences - InkSlinger PR

Leave a Reply

